Text Us:(479) 358-1998
If you are ever involved in an auto accident in Arkansas and you are not at fault, you need an attorney on your side to help you deal with the other driver’s insurance company. Here is some information to consider when navigating your car wreck claim.
The insurance companies that represent the drivers involved in an accident will determine who is at fault, usually by reviewing the police report and talking to witnesses. If you turn out to be at fault, you will not be able to collect any money for the incident from the other driver’s insurance. Your own insurance may provide benefits for your property damage if you purchased collision insurance. If you are at fault and your insurance isn’t able to settle with the person you hit, your insurance company will provide a defense attorney. But, if the evidence shows another driver was at fault, you can work with Northwest Arkansas personal injury attorneys, like Mullins and Blake, who get paid a percentage of your settlement or trial verdict if you win your injury case. This approach allows you to obtain legal representation when dealing with a powerful insurance company in that you are not paying money out of pocket for attorney fees. Many cases can be settled out of court, especially when it is clear who was at fault.
It’s best to avoid talking with the other driver’s insurance company unless your attorneys are involved. The other insurance company may try to use your recorded words against you to avoid paying for the damage. Letting your attorneys handle communication with the other party’s insurance company is the most effective plan of action to avoid complicating your case. As for your rental car, let your attorneys help you with that aspect as well. You are entitled to a rental car or money for loss of use while your car is out of service and in the shop being repaired.
As an accident victim who was not at fault, you are entitled to be paid for medical expenses, money for lost wages, compensation for pain and suffering, along with car repair payments and a rental car replacement. If your car was totaled to the point it would cost more than 70% of the vehicle’s market value to fix it, you are entitled to payment that represents the full market value of your totaled vehicle prior to the accident. It will be up to the at-fault driver’s insurance company to cover that expense.
Once your claim has been fully prepared and presented by experienced regional attorneys who know Arkansas traffic laws inside and out, the insurance company of the at-fault driver will pay for damages. Under Arkansas law, every driver must have insurance that covers AT LEAST $25,000 per person and $50,000 per collision. Your own insurance company may even provide additional coverage for medical bills and lost wages on top of the other company’s payments without affecting your coverage. Experienced local attorneys like Mullins and Blake can help you receive all the benefits owed to you after a car wreck.
Not all attorneys have experience with car wreck cases, and you should choose a law firm to help you that focuses on such cases.
The most reliable way to ensure that you get paid following an accident caused by someone else is to work with Northwest Arkansas personal injury attorneys who have a successful track record and don’t charge you upfront fees. Contact Mullins and Blake at (479) 337-7077 for a free consultation to answer any of your questions about your case. You won’t have to pay anything if your case isn’t successful. Our reputation is built on successful cases and we are here to help the local community.